Voluntary Stewardship Program (VSP)

Washington State’s Voluntary Stewardship Program (VSP) provides an alternative approach for counties to address our state’s Growth Management Act requirements. The program uses a watershed-based, incentive-based process to protect critical areas, promote viable agriculture, and encourage cooperation among diverse stakeholders. Learn more background about VSP. 

What’s new?

Counties Using VSP

Click on one of the 27 participating counties (in blue) to see their local VSP information and events.

map of vsp counties
San JuanMasonGrays HarborThurstonPacificLewisCowlitzSkagitYakimaKittitasChelanOkanoganDouglasBentonGrantFerryLincolnAdamsFranklinWalla WallaStevensPend OreilleSpokaneWhitmanColumbiaGarfieldAsotin

San Juan

VSP Resolution 4-2012

Contact:  Linda Lyshall, PhD, Executive Director, San Juan Islands Conservation District, linda@sjislandscd.org, 360-378-6621, 350 Court Street #10, Friday Harbor, WA 98250

San Juan County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 07-12

Contact:  Barbara Adkins, AICP, Director, Department of Community Development, 615 W. Alder St., Shelton, WA 98584, 360.427.9670 x286

Mason County VSP web page

Grays Harbor

Grays Harbor County Resolution 2011-130

Contact:  Jane Hewitt, Director, Planning & Building Division, Grays Harbor Department of Public Services; 360.249.4222; 100 W Broadway, Suite 31, Montesano 98563


Thurston County VSP web page

VSP Resolution 14703

Contact:  Charissa Waters, Associate Long Range Planner, Thurston County Planning, 2000 Lakeridge Drive SW, Olympia  98502-6045, 360-786-5541


VSP Resolution 2012-003

Contact:  Tim Crose, Community Development Director, PO 68, South Bend  98586, 360.875.9356

Pacific County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 11-365

Contact:  Ms. Lee Napier, Community Development Director; 360.740.1146; 2025 NE Kresky Avenue, Chehalis WA 98532


VSP Resolution 12-016

Contact:  Greta Holmstrom, Senior Long Range Planner; 207 4th Ave. N., Kelso, WA 98626, 360.577.3052 x6676

Cowlitz County VSP web page


VSP Ordinance O20110013

Contact:  Michael See, Water Resources Section Manager, Skagit County Public Works, (360) 416-1455, 1800 Continental Place, Mount Vernon  98273

Skagit County VSP web page


Yakima County VSP website

VSP Resolution 14-201-2

Contact:  Lynn Deitrick, Planning Division Manager, 128 N. 2nd Street, RM 400, Yakima  98901, 509-574-2300


Kittitas County VSP website

VSP Resolution 2011-012

Contact: Anna Lael, District Manager, Kittitas County Conservation District, 2211 W. Dolarway Road, Suite 4, Ellensburg, WA 98926,509-925-3352, ext 7


Chelan County VSP website

VSP Resolution 2012-03

Contact: Mike Kaputa, Director, Chelan County Natural Resources; 411 Washington St. Suite 201, Wenatchee 98801, 509.670.6935


VSP Resolution 010-2012

Contact:  Perry Huston, Okanogan County Planning Department Director; 509.422.7218, 123 5th Ave N Suite 130, Okanogan  98840

Okanogan County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 12-01

Contact:  Aaron Rosenblum, Natural Resources Specialist, Foster Creek Conservation District, 203 S. Rainier St., Waterville, WA 98858, 509-423-5990

Douglas County VSP webpage


Benton County VSP website

VSP Resolution

Contact:  Michael Shuttleworth, Planning Manager; Benton County Planning Dept., POB 910, Prosser, 99350, 509.786.5612


VSP Resolution 12-008

Contact:  Marie Lotz, Manager, GCCD, 1107 S Juniper Dr., Moses Lake, WA; 509-765-9618

Grant County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 2012-01

Contact:  Lloyd Odell, Ferry Conservation District, POB 1045, Republic; 509.775.3473 x190

Ferry County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 12-01-2-1

Contact:  Val Vissia, Communications Coordinator, Lincoln County Conservation District, POB 46, Davenport, WA; 509.725.4181 x100

Lincoln County VSP web page


VSP Resolution R-02-2012

Contact:  Loren Wiltse, Planning Director; 425 E Main, Ste 200, Othello, WA 99344, 509.488.9441

Adams County VSP webpage


VSP Resolution 2012-023

Contact:  Jerrod MacPherson, Director of Planning & Building; 509.545.3521

Franklin County VSP website

Walla Walla

VSP Resolution 12-015

Contact:  Tom Glover, Director, Walla Walla Joint Community Development Agency (WWJCDA); Development Services Center; 310 West Poplar, Walla Walla  99362, 509-524-2621

Walla Walla County VSP web page


Stevens County VSP web page

VSP Resolution 2011-05

Contact:  Adam Cares, VSP Coordinator - Stevens County Conservation District, 232 Williams Lake Rd., Colville; 509.680.2149

Pend Oreille

Pend Oreille County VSP webpage

VSP Resolution 2012-2

Contact:  Michael Lithgow, Director, Community Development Department, 625 W 4th Street, POB 5066, Newport, 99156, 509.447.6457


VSP Resolution 11-1190

Contact:  Walt Edelen, Water Resource Manager, Spokane Conservation District (SCD), 509-535-7274, ext. 224

Spokane County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 072645

Contact:  Jerry Bassler, Assistant County Planner, Whitman County Public Works, POB 430, Colfax, WA 99111, 509.397.5209

Whitman County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 2012-08

Contact:  Kim E. Lyonnais, Director of Planning & Building, Columbia County, 114 S. 2nd, Dayton  99328.

Columbia County VSP website


Garfield County VSP Resolution

Contact:  Donna Deal, Garfield County Auditor; PO 278, Pomeroy  99347, 509-843-1411

Garfield County VSP web page


VSP Resolution 12-01

Contact:  Karst Riggers, Building Official / Planner; P.O. Box 610, Asotin 99402, 509.243.2020

VSP Partners:
washington environmental council, washington nursery and landscape association, western washington agricultural association, futurewise, washington cattlemen's association, washington farm bureau, the nature conservancy, washington state association of counties, washington state dairy federation
Resources for VSP Administrators:

Bill Eller, VSP Coordinator
State Conservation Commission

blue scc logo
conservation district logo