Commission Members

The Washington State Conservation Commission meets every two months. Our meetings rotate around the great state of Washington! More about Commission Meetings.


Lynn Brown, Chair

Commissioner Lynn Brown is Chair and serves as the Conservation District Central Representative on the Commission. Commissioner Brown serves as the Vice Chair on the Kittitas County Conservation District Board and on the Board of the Washington Association of Conservation District Plant Materials Center. Lynn graduated from the University of Wyoming with a BS and MS in Civil Engineering and from Harvard with a Masters in Public Administration. He spent 18 years as the Washington State Conservationist and was instrumental in coordinating recovery resources following the eruption of Mount St. Helens. He also led the effort to transfer the plant material center from the Natural Resources Conservation Service to the Washington Association of Conservation Districts.


Jim Kropf, Vice-Chair

Jim Kropf joined the Commission in 2010, representing Washington State University (WSU) Extension. Jim has been a faculty member of WSU Extension since 1979, serving as an Extension educator on the Spokane Indian Reservation in Stevens County, Douglas and Chelan Counties, and Pierce and King Counties. He served as the Western District Director for WSU Extension from 1999 through 2010 and currently serves as the Extension Natural Resources Program Director. His Extension work primarily has focused on the production of agronomic and horticultural crops, agricultural marketing, and water quality. A Washington native, Jim grew up in Pierce County and has a B.S. and M.S. in Agronomy from Washington State University.

Sarah Spaeth

Commissioner Spaeth has been involved with conservation work for over twenty years and is currently Director, Conservation and Strategic Partnerships at Jefferson Land Trust.  In her 20 years with the Land Trust, she has conducted delicate and complex easement negotiations with landowner partners, has written more than $6 million worth of successful land preservation funding proposals and worked with organizations and agencies in creative conservation partnerships. She earned degrees in biology from Western Washington University and a Masters degree in coastal zone management from the University of Washington.  Prior to working for Jefferson Land Trust, she worked as a consultant on marine resources issues and as a fisheries biologist in Alaska.


Perry Beale

Commissioner Perry Beale joined the Commission in 2014 representing the Washington State Department of Agriculture (WSDA). Perry Beale is the Agricultural Land Use Lead and Eastern WA supervisor for the WSDA Natural Resources Assessment Section. His primary duty is coordinating crop mapping activities within the state. Perry was raised on a wheat and cattle ranch in southeastern Washington and is the Vice President of the family farm. He graduated from Washington State University with a degree in Agronomy. Perry is also a graduate of the Ag Forestry Leadership program.

Larry CochranLarry Cochran

Commissioner Larry Cochran was elected to serve on the Conservation Commission in December 2015. He is also chair of the Palouse Conservation District. He’s a third generation farmer and runs Cochran Farms in Colfax.


Dean Longrie, Ph.D.

Commissioner Longrie serves as the Conservation District Western Representative on the Commission. He also serves on the Board of Supervisors at Clark Conservation District.

photo coming soon

Tom Miller

Commissioner Miller joined the SCC when he became President of the Washington Association of Conservation Districts in 2016. He also serves on the Board of Supervisors at Spokane Conservation District. Full biography coming soon.


Kelly Susewind

Commissioner Kelly Susewind joined the Commission in 2013 and represents the Director of the Washington State Department of Ecology, Maia Bellon.


Todd Welker

Commissioner Todd Welker joined the commission in 2014 and represents the Washington State Department of Natural Resources. Todd is DNR’s SE Region Manager and resides in Ellensburg. He has been with DNR for over 23 years; the first 19 on the Westside of the state working as a biologist and then as a manager in the department’s aquatics program. Todd oversees all DNR activities in 15 counties of SE Washington, including state land management of approximately 900,000 acres of timber and agriculture lands firefighting. Todd brings a diverse background in natural resource management.

DarrylWilliamsDaryl Williams

Governor Jay Inslee appointed Daryl Williams to the Commission in 2015. Commissioner Williams is the natural resources liaison for the Tulalip Tribes Natural Resources Department.